JAE (June And Echo)- Meeting (1)


A harsh blue had fallen over Lim, that little Urbana by the sea, but it settled, like a cape over Echo. Her name was Echo, perhaps it was not- but she was only called by Echo, and any other name would echo past her without even the slightest notice.

Echo was new to Lim, and she could feel it. Her milky skin, brushed with dusty ivy tattoos, set her apart. And though she tried to ignore them, tears were slowly running down her cheeks. She stared blankly into the storefronts that glared back at her bench.

“Get your hands off me, leave me alone!” A woman wrestled her way out of an alley and into the main street. A man, huge and barrel chested was advancing on her, ripping at her clothes. The people around just watched as they walked, not caring.

“I said, stop!” She was retreating towards Echo’s bench. “Leave me alone!”

He was going to swing at her! Decades of training kicked in without her slightest thought, and Echo sent the man tumbling to the ground. A firm kick to the ankle.

“Are you okay?” Echo asked, rushing her away from the man. “Did he hurt you?”

The woman was shaking. She was growing paler and paler. “What do you want? What did you do that for?”

“To save you…” Echo said. Terror struck her. “Did I do something wrong? Im new to Distonetta, this is my first day in Lim. Im sorry!”

The woman was crying and lauging in releaf. “Oh, thank you so much! Do you need help with anything? I don’t know how much I have to offer, but I can try, I’m June.”

Echo shook June’s hand. It was a gesture she had seen here on Distonetta, but it felt strange to her. “I’m Echo.” She paused for a moment. “I need help finding my brother Umbra, but I don’t even know if he’s on Distonetta. But I think I need a job first…”

“Work?” She smiled brightly, epacantric eyes creasing at the edges, wavy black hair in a pony tail. “I can find you any kind of work. What did you do before?” June was stunning, really, radiant.

“I was a body-guard.”

Critiques, corrections, comments, and questions appreciated and returned!

10 responses to “JAE (June And Echo)- Meeting (1)

  1. I really liked it. =] Echo seems to be very complex to me.

  2. Brilliantly written! i hope you continue this, it’s nice to hear about everyone in this way.

  3. I like your choice of descriptive words when describing Echo and June.

  4. np I really liked it. 🙂

  5. SOPHIEDOODLE!! Already told you what I thought in chat but I thought I’d leave a comment hehe =P Love reading your stuff keep writing! I might even get into writing someday hehe

Leave a Reply

